European Travel Information and Authorization System
ETIAS news

Do I need ETIAS to travel to Ireland from UK?

Etias Visa Waiver
ETIAS Europe

How Northern Ireland and Ireland are different

The Republic of Ireland does not belong to the UK. Although Ireland is not a member the Schengen Area it is an EU member.

Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom. The UK includes England, Scotland and Wales.

Even if the UK hadn’t voted to leave EU, ETIAS could not have been used to travel to the UK because the UK has not signed the Schengen Agreement. ETIAS is required for travel to the Schengen Area and to other countries joining the Schengen Region.

Northern Ireland is distinct from Ireland. Northern Ireland will continue to be part of the UK while Ireland will remain within the EU.

The Irish border in recent history

To understand the current situation, it is useful to know the history of the Irish border. This conflict, also known internationally as the Northern Ireland Conflict or simply the Conflict, was ignited by historical events and began in late 1960s.

It was a crucial issue to determine the constitutional status of Northern Ireland. Many Protestant loyalists and unionists wanted Northern Ireland in the UK. The majority of Catholics support Northern Ireland joining a united Ireland.

The police began discriminating against the Catholic minor and Protestant/unionist governments during a campaign to end it. Police were accused of using violence to stop the movement of authorities.

Riots and violence among the groups led to the August 1969 deployment by British troops and subsequent riots. These events led to three-decade-long disturbances.

The border has been the focus of political negotiations, and this time it is about Brexit. The Northern Ireland border problem was not resolved by Theresa May, the former Prime Minister. It continues to be a problem in the hands of Boris Johnson, the current PM.

After many discussions, the EU has just established rules to stop border checks between Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.

Ireland is not a member of the Schengen Agreement.

Ireland is a member state of the EU, but it has not joined the Schengen Area.

The Common Travel Area between the UK and Ireland allows passport-free travel for their citizens as well as the three British Crown Dependencies Jersey, Guernsey and Guernsey. These countries are not members the European Union.

Following the agreement between the United Kingdom (UK), and the European Union, Gibraltar will be added to the Schengen Scheme.

The UK refused to sign the Schengen Agreement. They argued that frontier controls were better than any other method to stop illegal immigration from an island country.

For its reasons, Ireland refused to sign Schengen Agreement. It stated that it was not in Ireland’s best interests to do so. Ireland would also place exit and entry restrictions on travelers between Ireland and Britain, as well as on the frontier.

Ireland did not join the Schengen Agreement because it wanted to regulate non-EU citizens’ immigration status. Ireland is not part of mainland Europe. It makes sense that Ireland manages their borders as they see fit.

What is the difference between a Schengen Visa and a Regular Visa?

To establish uniform border rules between its member countries, the Schengen Agreement was established. Schengen visa holders are allowed to stay for up to 90 days in the region. The Schengen Visa can be used to travel in the countries that have signed it. You can use it for 90 days or more during the 180-day period.

ETIAS is not meant to replace the Schengen Visa. ETIAS is a visa waiver available to citizens of countries that are exempted in the Schengen Area from visa requirements.

Are ETIAS requirements required to travel to Ireland

The simple answer to this question is no. To visit Ireland, you will not need an ETIAS visa waiver. ETIAS travel authorization is only valid for Schengen countries. This does not apply for Ireland. ETIAS can be used to access Schengen countries such as Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania.

Non-EU citizens will require an ETIAS permit if they want to travel to Europe, such as Spain or Italy.

ETIAS will be made available to citizens from more than 50 countries in 2025 when it is released.

You should check the entry requirements for tourists going to Ireland according to their nationality. Additional permits may be required to enter Northern Ireland and any other country in Britain.

Schengen data systems and Ireland

Recent approval by the EU granted Ireland access to the Schengen Information System. Ireland now has access to SIS II – Europe’s most widely used IT security system.

The Irish national police force, A Garda Siochana, will share information on missing persons, stolen or lost items, and cars with the other 30 participating countries.

This data can be used to locate persons and objects in Europe and to identify potentially dangerous individuals trying to enter Ireland.

To detect and prevent serious crimes, the An Garda Siochana PULSE database and Garda Naţional Immig Bureau databases will integrate with SIS II. Ireland will not be part of the Schengen common travel zone but will benefit from the safety and security advantages of sharing its knowledge.